“What do you eat for breakfast?”

A lot of my friends are not familiar with the Paleo Diet.  In fact, I think that most of them think it’s weird.  I mean, everyone eats bread and pizza and cake and pasta and…..  A question that I get all the time is, “How can you give up ___?”, or “Don’t you get cravings for ____?”, or most often, “I could NEVER give up ___.”  

I was a huge skeptic when I first heard about the Paleo Diet.  I thought, what a ridiculous idea!  Everyone knows that whole grains are good for you — the USDA, the American Heart Association, and your doctor will tell you that you have to have heart-healthy whole grains for fiber and to protect your heart!  I decided to try it just to prove that it wouldn’t make a difference.  Well, after a few days of withdrawal from all those grain carbs I was eating on a regular basis (i.e., every meal), I came out of that fog feeling tremendously energetic.  Huh.  After awhile, I didn’t see any reason to go back.

And so, my skepticism gave way to a new lifestyle.  It took some adjustment, but now as long as I am home, I have no problem.  Even at restaurants I’m able to find something to eat.  The big challenges come when I’m at someone’s house, and of course there’s always someone when you’re out with friends who will comment on what I’m eating (or often on what I’m not eating).  It’s OK — I can take comments.  The harder part is navigating at a pizza party!

A lot of people ask me what I eat for breakfast since I no longer eat cereal, pancakes (except for coconut flour or almond flour pancakes), bagels, etc.  I’ve come to realize that breakfast is another meal, and you can eat ANYTHING for breakfast.  Honestly, what’s the difference?  Just because we’ve been conditioned to eat certain bland or sweet foods doesn’t mean we have to do so.  In fact, your breakfast should be a premier meal of the day.  You’re breaking your overnight fast, so your body needs high-quality fuel and nutrients to start the day right.

Here are some examples of typical breakfasts for me.

Image

2-3 scrambled eggs, pasture-raised bacon, steamed green beans, and green tea

Image

2-3 scrambled eggs, steamed broccoli, a banana, and green tea.  I eat more carbs on days when I run in the morning.

These are both typical breakfasts.  Sometimes I’ll eat meat and vegetables left over from dinner the night before.  Why not?  I always include a good source of protein and a vegetable, and I add a fruit, sweet potato, or squash on days that I ran in the morning so that I replenish glycogen stores.

Here’s a great dessert that I absolutely love!

Image

Diced pineapple with a couple of tablespoons of canned (full fat) coconut milk with a bit of grated (unsweetened) coconut on top!  Sometimes I use blueberries or strawberries instead of pineapple, and sometimes I put a bit of slivered almonds on top too.  So good!  When you’re not eating typical processed sugar-laden desserts, you can appreciate the flavor and sweetness of fruits and coconut products.  

Whole foods are good foods.

5 thoughts on ““What do you eat for breakfast?”

  1. Hey, I read an article about coconut oil being great for preventing alzhimers and dimensia. I was wondering if you have heard this and what coconut products you buy.

    • Hey! Coconut oil is great for cooking! It is a highly stable oil. I also use coconut milk, coconut flour, coconut water and coconut flakes (unsweetened ). Very tasty and good for you!

  2. I usually go with eggs (scrambled or hard boiled), an avocado and some fruit. Lately, I’ve added either sweet potato or butternut squash on the side, since I tend to forget that we still need carbs..

    • Hi jennifer! I tend to forget about carbs too until my body starts telling me during a run that it really should have had more carbs! Since I run on Tuesday and Thursday mornings before breakfast, I always make sure to have some sort of carb for breakfast in addition to my protein to replenish the glycogen stores. On gym days, usually I have more protein than carbs. I’ve read the “Paleo Diet for Athletes” by Loren Cordain, and he recommends having carbs AFTER the run. That being said, according to Cordain athletes shouldn’t really do the “very low carb” version of the paleo diet because they’ll run out of fuel for workouts.

      • I think many people associate Paleo with “low-carb” even though that’s not really what it means; though if you are only eating sweet potatoes and squash and bananas, you probably won’t see the same results as if you were loading up on protein and fats.
        I am still trying to figure out what works best for me!

Leave a Reply

