Carb Loading and a Cold

I have the Allstate 13.1 NYC (half marathon) tomorrow morning, and I’m probably more ill-prepared for this half marathon than I have ever been for a half marathon.  For several years, I’ve taken for granted that my training was such that I could run a half marathon on any given day.  Well, apparently this winter I neglected to do as much long-running as usual.  Oh well!

My plan for the week was to do the usual running on Tuesday and Thursday, go to the gym Monday and Wednesday, and do my Wendler 5/3/1 weight training on Monday and Wednesday so that all potential heavy lifting (i.e., killing of legs) would be done in time for recovery.  I had planned Friday to be a rest day.  Also, I was planning to start carb-loading a little on Wednesday and full-force on Thursday and Friday.

Wednesday morning, I woke up with a sore throat and a runny nose.  Great.  I went to the gym and did the Wendler for deadlifts and bench press on Wednesday night, and my symptoms weren’t so bad.  But I slept horribly Wednesday night and ended up running 4 miles Thursday morning with my friend, but honestly, if I hadn’t had a date set up with  my friend, I would have stayed in bed.  Thursday my cold symptoms were bad, and I was miserable all day.  It felt like a wet sponge had been stuffed into my head.  Fortunately, there were no chest symptoms, so that means running is still a possibility.  Friday morning, I woke up and things were a bit better, though I’m still pretty congested.

Carb-loading is more challenging when you don’t eat empty grain calories anymore.  Back when I was a non-paleo runner, I could just eat a ton of pasta or whatever.  Now, my high-carb choices are limited to sweet potatoes, bananas, fruits (fresh or dried) and squashes.  I typically eat an average of 100 g of carb per day, and on long-run days I might eat 150 g.  Now I’m trying to get up to about 250 g to 300 g before the race.  Not easy!  But I think my performance for longer distances suffers when I don’t take in enough carbs.  And I also am planning to eat raisins during the race too since I don’t like fake stuff like gels and typical running-performance carbs.

We’ll see how it goes, but I don’t have high hopes for a rip-roaring performance tomorrow.  Plus, it’s supposed to be cold — like 30 degrees at race start.  Guess I’ll have to dress warmly, and more clothes = more weight.  Here’s hoping that the cold symptoms are mostly done by tomorrow morning!

Now for fun — is this breakfast, lunch, or dinner? (2 beef with onion hamburger patties, a couple of tablespoons of organic salsa, 1/2 sliced avocado, steamed broccoli, and one kiwi, green tea)

IMG1095

The answer:  It was lunch one day, breakfast another day, could be dinner any day.  That’s the great thing about paleo — it’s all just food to be enjoyed at any meal!

One thought on “Carb Loading and a Cold

Leave a Reply

