Chocolate Covered Peeps, and 150 Weighted Squats

I hope everyone had a great Easter weekend! We had a lot of fun. Our nephew and 2 nieces were visiting us from out of town, so we had a full house. Seriously, we had to run the dishwasher 2-3 times a day just to keep up with all the dirty dishes!

Relatives brought sooooooo much candy for all the kids. I hid a lot of it because the candy consumption was getting out of hand. Someone brought the kids chocolate colored peeps. You know peeps — those yucky marshmallows dyed yellow and covered in sugar and shaped like baby chicks. And these were dipped in chocolate. My daughter wouldn’t go near them, but the other kids thought they were wonderful. There were 5 kids and 5 peeps, but since my daughter didn’t want hers the kids had a contest to see who won the extra peep. My son was ecstatic that he won.

Chocolate Covered Peep

Chocolate Covered Peep

Easter breakfast was good. I made almond flour pancakes, bacon, and lots of berries. Yum.

Breakfast

Breakfast

Lunch was a big ham with steamed broccoli, steamed green beans, mashed cauliflower, and sauteed asparagus and mushrooms with rosemary. Also, a very non-paleo chocolate cake. (Sorry, didn’t get photos of the food).

I was off work Good Friday, so I was able to go for a nice run with my neighbor, and then we met at the gym for the 8:30 30-minute class. It was awesome!!!! Wish I could do that everyday!

Today, we had a killer but awesome workout. We warmed up with thrusters, work up to your 1 rep max. I was able to do 3 at 75 lbs, so I put an extra 5 lbs on the bar but couldn’t clean it to shoulder height. Well, I probably could have if I had tried again, but I’m having a mental block with cleaning the bar at the heavier weights. Sometimes I’ll even fail at 70 lbs but since I know I can do it, I’ll try again.

Our workout was just 3 moves, but a LOT of those 3 moves!
50-40-30-20-10 reps
weighted squats with bar
floor wipers with bar held up in air
bent over rows with bar
after each round of the 3 exercises at required reps is complete, run once around the building (about 150 m). I chose to use the 45 lb bar without weight, though a couple of people used 2 dumbbells instead of the bar.

So for those of you keeping score at home, this workout included 150 weighted squats. My legs are feeling a little tight right now. I’m sure I’ll pay tomorrow……

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Peeps, and 150 Weighted Squats

  1. YUM i forget about paleo pancakes. I need to make some 🙂 and holy guacamole, that workout sounds terrible. Light weight for about the first 25 reps and then you’re going “Whose idea was it to do floor wipers with 125lbs?! oh wait…” Ha! that’s awesome.

    • Most of our workouts are like that. Either you look at it on the board and say, how am I ever going to finish this (and you do) or you look at it and say, that’s not so bad (and it is). Paleo pancakes are so much tastier than regular pancakes!

  2. Chocolate peeps sound nasty. Peeps are nasty enough as it is. Ew. 😛

    Love paleo pancakes, but I usually do just the two-ingredient egg/banana ones. Do you have a recipe for your almond flour ones?

    That workouts looks killer!!!

    • This was the almond flour pancake recipe I used and it turned out pretty well (actually, I doubled it because I had so many people to feed).

      1 1/2 cups blanched almond flour
      1/2 tsp baking soda
      1/4 tsp sea salt
      3 large eggs
      1/4 cup coconut milk
      1 tbsp pure maple syrup or honehy
      1 tsp pure vanilla extract
      Coconut oil for greasing pan/cooking surface

      I mix everything together, then I spoon a big tablespoon onto my cooking surface. I have a 500 year old thing that I think is a grilled cheese sandwich maker, but it’s heated on both surfaces. I spoon in the batter, then close it, and within about a minute perfectly thin pancakes are cooked. You could also use a griddle or a good nonstick pan.

      The workout was killer. My legs are sooooooo sore today! Other parts of my body are too, but nothing compares to my quads….

Leave a Reply

