Weekly Wrap Up April 1-5, 2013

After Monday’s workout, my quads were SORE for several days. Tuesday though was the day to run at the track, and I didn’t want sore quads to keep that from happening! My neighbor and I ran the 1.5 miles to the track, and the plan was for 1600 m repeats at 5K pace. Since we don’t really know her goal 5K pace, I told her to keep it under 9 min/mile. For me, I was gunning for 7:30-something, which is ambitious because I’ve never gotten below 7:45 pace for 5K (averaged for the entire race — of course, at points I will be running faster and at some points slower). My quads were in serious pain, so I knew that 1600 m repeats would be painful. But somehow, knowing that it’s going to be painful going into it makes it more bearable. The goal was to do 3 x 1600 m with about 3 min rest between repeats, but we only did 2 x 1600 m.

My friend was a bit nervous about doing 1600 m meter repeats as she’s never done them before, but I told her to just run at a pace that isn’t a sprint but feels outside your comfort zone. Long story short, her stopwatch didn’t work on the first 1600 m, but on the 2nd she got 8:41! That was great! I got 7:36 and 7:39 which exceeded my expectations for my sore quads. Then we ran the 1.5 miles home again. My legs were TRASHED for the rest of the day and for the day after as well.

Wednesday at the gym we had deadlifts as the warmup! I LOVE deadlifts, and in my quest for super strength that is one exercise that has received a lot of focus. I got my bar and a whole stack of weights, and the trainer joked that he should just bring the weight tree over so I could have enough.

In our gym, we have the oldtimers and the newcomers. I’m considered more of a newcomer because I’ve only been coming for about 2 years. We newcomers stay on the left side of the gym while the oldtimers are on the right side. We’re all friendly, but the oldtimers rarely ever will partner with us and really don’t pay that much attention to what we’re doing on the left side of the gym.

Until Wednesday when I had my bar loaded up at about 160 lbs (at that point) and one of the women came over to me and said, “Whoa, you’re lifting that?” I said, “Yep.” Presumably she went back to report to the oldtimers what I was doing. I guess the ladies over there are thinking of stepping up their game?

Anyway, I had a new deadlift PR — 190 lbs for 1 lift. I’m that close to 200 lbs! I told the trainer, and we high-fived. The rest of the workout pales in comparison to my new deadlift PR.

That night we all went to the Yankee game. It was COLD. Windy and in the 30s. I did not enjoy that. But the kids got on the big screen.

Kids on the big screen

Kids on the big screen

We got home so late that I ended up taking Thursday as a rest day, so no running or working out. This morning I went to the gym, and we did a lot of body weight exercises. We were supposed to do toe-to-bars and for the first time I actually got my feet up there for quite a few consecutive T2Bs! Progress is exciting.

This has been my deload week for my Wendler 5/3/1 weightlifting program. Next week I start my 4th cycle, and this weekend I hope to put together the new squat rack that I ordered so now I can finally do back squats.

This is my new favorite treat:

Green & Black's Organic Dark Chocolate with Peppermint

Green & Black’s Organic Dark Chocolate with Peppermint

The good thing about dark chocolate is that a little amount is satisfying — not like with conventional candy bars where I can eat enough to kill a small farm animal.

This weekend will be a lot of running. I need to catch up with my running. Not just need to, I want to! I’ve missed it since I haven’t been running as much as I used to. The weather is getting warmer, and it’s glorious to be out there running when the weather is nice. 5:30 am when it’s cold and dark is tough. Yay, spring!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap Up April 1-5, 2013

  1. 1600m intervals?! EEK!! 3x800s killed me! 😉

    That’s too funny about the oldtimers and newcomers, even though you’ve been there two years..! And YES!! on the deadlift.. and YAYY!! on the T2B!!

  2. LOL hang in there with the repeats! They’re good for building speed (at least that’s what I keep reminding myself when I’m doing them).

    T2B’s make me feel like I’m channeling my inner (dormant) gymnast!

    Yeah, it’s funny at my gym some of the people have been following the trainer for YEARS — like more than a decade. I think some of the people are shocked that I’ve matched or surpassed them in the (short) time that I’ve been there. But I’m always up for challenges.

Leave a Reply

