Pancakes!

So this past week was supposed to be my heavy week for Wendler 5/3/1 and a lighter week for running leading into Sunday’s 5K. I’ve actually been doing consistent speed training and was hoping to see improvement over the St. Patrick’s Day 5K in March.

The week started off well with a great gym workout. Tuesday, I had a fun run with my friend with great 100 m sprints at the track. But Tuesday afternoon, I started to get a tickle in my throat and a slight cough. Hmmmmm…..

The cough got worse as the week went on. Oddly enough, I didn’t have a fever or any other symptoms except a bit of a runny nose. Running became interesting as I could feel some rattling going on in my tightening chest. And I started coughing up some lovely phlegm! Lovely!

I decided to just continue with my gym and regular running but to drop the heavy weight training (pun intended) for the week to give myself a little more rest. I took Saturday as a rest day hoping that the cough would go away by Sunday’s race. It didn’t, but I wasn’t about to give up the race because I was doing it with a friend….and I wanted to test out my training. I’ll write a race report with pics later, but suffice it to say I did have a faster finish time than my March race time.

Who likes pancakes? I used to like pancakes pre-paleo, but I never found them to be filling. Paleo pancakes, on the other hand, can be filling. My first paleo pancakes were with coconut flour. My son and I loved them, but no one else in the family did. So I did a variation with half almond flour and half coconut flour. Same story. But everyone liked my almond flour pancakes.

Inspired by Jennifer’s super-easy pancakes that she posted on Wine to Weightlifting, I decided to throw in some banana. Here was my modified recipe.

1 very ripe mashed banana
1/2 cup coconut flour
4 whole eggs
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup coconut milk (canned, full fat)
maybe 2 tablespoons of honey (from my friend’s beehive)

I mixed them all and made them on my 500 year old special pancake griddle. Actually, I think it was designed for making grilled cheese sandwiches. At least, that’s what I used to use it for…and for pancakes.

Pancake Batter

Pancake Batter


Pancakes

Pancakes

They come out so well on the griddle!

Breakfast!

Breakfast!

Did you find Nemo? When you have kids, you end up with very fancy plates. Anyway, my son and I really enjoyed these banana-flavored pancakes.

4 thoughts on “Pancakes!

  1. YUM! I need a griddle like that, my pancakes always end up being ridiculously thick because I have no way to smash them. I bet they cook a lot faster too. Brilliant!

    Sorry about the chest cold! Maybe its allergies? I’ve been battling those off and on like crazy. It stinks when that stuff arrives just in time for a race day.

Leave a Reply

