Stuff Kids of Runners Say

Many months ago I signed up to receive updates from the inaugural Haile Gebrselassie marathon in Ethiopia. Here’s a brief paragraph about Haile Gebrselassie for those of you who don’t know (according to the website about his race):

Haile Gebrselassie is arguably the greatest, most versatile distance runner in world history. He has won two Olympic gold medals, four World Championship titles and set 27 world records during a distinguished career that continues to this day. He won the Berlin Marathon four consecutive times, including a 2:03:59 in 2008 which, at the time, broke the world record. He is dedicated to supporting organizations and causes that contribute to Ethiopia’s economic growth. He continues to compete internationally while managing many highly successful businesses throughout Ethiopia.

I thought it would be fun one day to do this event. Of course, I’m not doing it this year, but I’d like to hear more about it.

I got an email update about it this morning, and I casually mentioned to my kids that I’d like to do it one day.

13-year-old daughter: “Mom, why would you want to do that? You know you’d come in dead last.”

11-year-old son: “Yeah, mom, those Ethiopians would totally smoke you. They’d be done 2 hours before you cross the finish line.”

I was so proud. Not at the grossly exaggerated representation of my lack of speed but at the realization that my kids actually have picked up on some basic facts of distance running! Yes, kids, there are indeed a lot of fast Ethiopian runners.

Leave a Reply

