52

Sorry, I haven’t blogged in awhile.  I’ve been obsessed with the Boston marathon bombing events.  But I’ve still been working out!

Running has been going well.  Last Sunday, I ran 13 miles and felt good.  Tuesday, we did about 5.5 miles total, with 5 x 800 m repeats.  I was surprised how well I did those too — 3:41, 3:40, 3:40, 3:41, 3:41.  The consistency with these was scary!  Wednesday evening I did an easy 3 miles, and Thursday was another easy 5.  And this Sunday I did 12 miles and felt great.  I was supposed to do 14, but our schedule was altered at the last minute and I didn’t have time for the extra 2 miles.  It’s fine.  I’m glad to be feeling like I’m getting my running mojo back!

Of course, the gym has been crazy.  Today was a brutal workout.  The trainers told us to go as heavy as we could on the weights, to the point of failure if possible.  They said that if you were whipping through the workout, you should add weight.  I guess my partner and I took the admonishment to go heavy a little more seriously than others did because we were the last ones to finish.  We did a lot of stuff, but the toughest parts were as follows:

4 x 13 deadlifts at 135 lbs

4 x 13 push presses at 65 lbs (then dropped down to 55 lbs in the last 2 sets)

4 x 13 back squats at 65 lbs.

We also did 4 x 3 wall climbs and 4 x 13/13 walking pushups (or plankups as some call them).  While the timer partner did these things, the worker partner was doing a hold.  Ugh.

So, yeah, after doing 52 deadlifts, pushpresses, and back squats, my body is sore now.  It will be worse tomorrow!

This is also my heavy week for the Wendler 5/3/1 workouts, and I have to figure out when to fit those in this week.  My friend and I are doing a 5K on Sunday morning, and I don’t want my body to be trashed before the race.  Of course, I’ll take a rest day on Saturday, but I don’t want to do deadlifts or squats after Thursday.  

So what’s my goal for the 5K?  I’m not setting a time-based goal.  I’m setting a goal to run absolutely as hard as I can, well outside my comfort zone, and to finish without gas in the tank.  The 800 m and 1600 m repeats we’ve been doing over the past few weeks are good training for getting used to the feeling of running hard.  I don’t fear it as much now, and I am becoming more accustomed to that feeling of pushing as hard as possible.

Well, that’s it for now!  I am looking forward to testing my training in the 5K on Sunday.

8 thoughts on “52

    • I probably work out too much ha ha! But I have the Rubin Run half marathon in NJ on May twelfth and I like to get in at least a couple of race distance runs in before a half marathon. I feel and perform better with those base long runs. And I am planning to do a full marathon in October.

  1. I did 2 x 800s once.. that was rough.. 😉

    Sounds like some awesome workouts so far! I’m so close to jumping on the 5/3/1 bandwagon.. haha. Just have to figure out when to fit it in!

    Sorry if you told me already, what’s your typical weekly schedule like?

    • Hi Jennifer! My typical week is as follows: Sunday – long run Monday – gym (45-50 minute crossfit or bootcamp type workout at 5:30 am) evening 5-3-1 main squats and deadlift assist Tuesday – 5-6 miles including track work (5:30 am) evening 5-3-1 overhead press main bench press assist Wednesday -gym 5:30 am Thursday – 5-6 mile easy run 5:30 am. Evening deadlifts main and squat assists Friday- gym 5:30 am. Saturday – varies ….could be rest or easy 3-6 mile run. 5-3-1 bench press main overhead press assist. But sometimes I take complete rest and do bench press Sunday after long run. That’s it! Probably too much for a 43 year old ha ha

      • That’s so awesome, Laura!!

        I think my problem is I enjoy my 8 hours of sleep and find no room for morning workouts..

        So it’s trying to cram things in starting at 5:30pm.. so WOD 5:30; sometimes Endurance after at 6:30; get home at 8:00, eat dinner and chill for a few, then it’s bedtime!

Leave a comment